Add Manchester to the List

Rachel DePompaRachel DePompa – bio | email 

I try not to weigh in on things and I’m not really going to right now. What you are about to read is more tongue and cheek, but I think it perfectly sums up Richmond’s Baseball Debacle.  So here goes…..

I’m pretty sure if I hold a press conference tomorrow to say I think it’s a really good idea to put a stadium on Belle Isle… just because.  My suggestion would get headlines. (Am I mocking the Richmond media, including myself right now? When it comes to baseball… YES!)

Seriously. The Times Dispatch’s FRONT PAGE story today sounded more like this….. “Someone told a guy, who told another guy, who mentioned in passing, that it would be a really, really good idea to maybe, someday put a minor league baseball stadium on some old land that first guy has… that he will soon be done with.” 

I get that this is just another idea being “batted” around, but still, even when we have actual drawings and plans there’s no clear place to take them. Everything just seems so spread out. If you want to revamp the Diamond, well don’t call the city cause the RMA owns it. If you want to put it in the Bottom, then you make the counties AND the RMA feel left out of the discussion. And we are constantly being told a team is definitely coming. Sounds to me like everyone just agrees to disagree.  At this point, slap a fresh coat of paint on the Diamond and call it a day.

1 Comment

Filed under Baseball, Funny

One response to “Add Manchester to the List

  1. B. L. Westbrook

    actual time 12:31p.m. – 07/06/2009

    Maybe, just maybe, Belle Isle or one of Richmond’s fine sites should have been chosen to hold a memorial service for Michael Jackson. *ALSO, tongue-in-cheek.*

Leave a Reply

