Richmond Round-Up 07/31

Rachel DePompaRachel DePompa – bio | email 

It’s been a slow week! You always know that is the case when I start looking for story ideas in a folder on my desk called “evergreens”. I did a few of them this week.

If you’re looking for city hall gossip there really isn’t any this week. All’s quiet with the Mayor. Maybe too quiet. We need a little spice around here!

Child Death Investigation:

I do have an update today on the state investigation into the death of a toddler at a Richmond Day Care. (13 month old Andrew Johnson was left inside a  day care van for 7 hours in 84 degree weather.) The Department of Social Services wrapped up its investigation late yesterday and held a press conference today. The state is recommending the Day Care lose its license to operate. The owner of the Yellow Brick Road Day Care is vowing to fight. And several sources tell me there will be more updates to this story very soon. I’ll keep you posted.

I’m on-call this weekend and really hoping for nothing to happen. Wish me luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under City Hall Talk, Crime

Leave a Reply

