Virginia Tech: Two and a half years later?!?!

Rachel DePompaRachel DePompa – bio | email 

You mean to tell me, the former director of Virginia Tech’s mental health facility just happened to have Seung Hui Cho’s medical records in his house for 2 1/2 years!!!!  You’ve got to be kidding me?!?! How could those records never have surfaced during the state’s investigation into the massacre? Was the former director ever interviewed? Why did he have student records at home? And why did he STILL have them after leaving office? Seriously, this is ludicrous! I know I usually just write about Richmond, but this story really gets to me. As many of you may know, I was at Virginia Tech the morning of the shooting working as a journalist for WDBJ. I heard the frantic calls by police for help. I heard the shooting in the background on my police scanner. I witnessed the faces of everyone in the room when VT President Charles Steger first addressed the world and said “20 fatalities and that was a ballpark figure.” I was on that campus for 72 hours reporting non-stop. I saw the faces of countless family members as they learned what happened to their loved ones. I met many of them personally. I will never, EVER forget. And to hear that Cho’s missing medical records were in a house and never reported to police for the last 2 and 1/2 years??!!?! It makes me wonder what else was missed? What else is out there? What else we can learn from this terrible event?

April 16th still gets me. (That cold, breezy Monday.) Even now.

2 Comments

Filed under Not Richmond, Uncategorized, Virginia Tech

2 responses to “Virginia Tech: Two and a half years later?!?!

  1. B. L. Westbrook

    Actual reading and writing time: Wed. 07/22/2009 @ 7:31p.m.

    Dear Ms. DePompa,

    I write to you with a serious statement. In answer to your rage and questioning in this matter, I only hope for EVERYONE’s sake that the main thing to come out of all this VT horror and subsequent revelations will be, for better or worse, is THE TRUTH! Whatever that is.

    • G. Long

      Rachel,

      I do agree with you. It is beyond belief the former director removed files from the center.

      His actions add further injury to the tragedy of 4/16.

Leave a Reply

