Flatheads, Swine Flu and Debates Oh My!

Rachel DePompaRachel DePompa – bio | email

SWINE FLU:

Achoo! I know at least 10 people who came down with the swine flu in the last week! I am determined NOT to be the next to go down.  Alas, I missed out on my chance for a free H1N1 shot today. I was at a press conference where the Mayor got a shot to set the example for the rest of the city. When he finished, they had a few to give away, but ran out quickly. I have a feeling we’re going to be hearing a lot of stories about the Health Department running out of the vaccine.

BASEBALL NAME CONTROVERSY:

With the Hambones out,  I thought it would be fair to point out tonight that almost all of the remaining names could be considered offensive to someone.  In this politically correct day and age, it’s hard to please  anyone. I received an email today about the name Flatheads: Did you know…

Flathead Indians are a Native American race of people/tribe living between the Cascade Mountains and Rocky Mountains. Appropriately named the Salish – they initially lived entirely east of the Continental Divide but established their headquarters near the eastern slope of the Rocky Mountains. Occasionally hunting parties went west of the Continental Divide but not west of the Bitterroot Range. The easternmost edge of their ancestral hunting forays were the Gallatin, Crazy Mountain, and Little Belt Ranges. They were called the Flathead Indians by the first white men who came to the Columbia River. The name, used in error, in the pejorative as slang – was said to derive from the flat skull produced by binding infants’ skulls with boards and is used for many Native Americans

I’m pretty sure, the baseball owners meant a type of Catfish… but I’m also pretty sure they meant no harm by the name Hambone either.  Just saying….

7th DISTRICT SEAT DEBATE:

The 7th District Candidates Forum is Thursday, October 15 from 6:30-9PM at the Robinson Theater. Open to all interested citizens of the community and 7th District. Contact John Johnson at (804)814-1066

6 Comments

Filed under Baseball, Election, Swine Flu

6 responses to “Flatheads, Swine Flu and Debates Oh My!

  1. B. L. Westbrook

    10/14/2009 @ 8:40p.m.

    Dear Ms. DePompa,

    Going to my doctor tomorrow for seasonal flu shot and to get in bid for H1N1 when she has it. I am a chicken-liver over needles (stupid for a diabetic on insulin), so if I have the “guts” to do it, I’m positive that one of my favorite reporters/personalities can do it and be brave, also.

    Sincerely,

    B. L. Westbrook

    • B. L. Westbrook

      Followup to 10/14/2009 @ 8:40p.m.
      NOW is Saturday – 10/172009 @ 9:32a.m.

      Received seasonal flu shot AND pneumonia shot Thursday. Flu went in right shoulder and only stung for a second … “Pewmoany” in left shoulder and itched like h-e-double-toothpicks for 15-min., but NO allergy. Will get H1N1 when available … and hope my bravery will be inspirational for some scaredy-cats like me out there. I’m religious, you see, I was born a DEVOUT COWARD. {Old, tired joke, but the best I could do at this juncture.} bLw

  2. Celeste

    I am not sure if this is the Blog area where I can comment about the Richmond Baseball team, but I thought that this was a fun and could be made into a nice chant “Richmond Rock Hoppers ROCK, and you’ve just been thrown out by a Rock Hoppers HOP!!

  3. Patricia Brown-Coleman

    The flying squirrels, is that the name for our baseball team here in Richmond. Now, tell me this is not for real. My friends from all around the country are laughing at me saying, “when we come to Richmond for game, watch out for the flying squirrels, there going to scratch our eyes out. The team should have been named, The Richmond Gaints.

  4. “not only here but 50% of other blogs, time to go back to mozilla i guess”

Leave a Reply

