Oh, The Places We Go….

Rachel DePompaRachel DePompa – bio | email

Monday: Get up 7am and drive to Blacksburg, Virginia. Work 17 straight hours on the story of two murdered VT students and a missing Tech student.

Tuesday: Drive back from Blacksburg. Exhausted…

Wednesday: Come to work, thinking I’m headed to City Hall… end up running out the door to Charlottesville. I cover a press conference on the missing VT student. Spend the day on the UVA campus. (PS.. my rival school… I went to the University of Maryland) PSS… (I’m beginning to think I’m on a college tour for the week. Is Harrisonburg’s JMU next?)

Thursday: No more travels. (I sing and dance in the  newsroom with joy!) Then I head out to interview a doctor and stumble on to the fact that the VCU Medical Center is so overloaded with H1N1 patients it is opening a whole treatment area just for influenza cases. I was suddenly in a room surrounded by flu patients. I interviewed a 9-year-old girl who was just diagnosed with swine flu. (If I get sick this should totally qualify for workman’s comp! Right?)  

PSSS… I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me on Friday 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Swine Flu

2 responses to “Oh, The Places We Go….

  1. Better not pass on that Swine Flu to me during our Sunday flag football game!

    • Ernest

      Rachel,

      You are always welcome to come visit H’burg. Especially if you could do some guest anchor work (ok, only half kidding. . . LOL). Some of us do miss ya.

Leave a Reply

