Ukrop’s Update and Marty Jewell’s DUI Conviction

Rachel DePompa – bio | email 

#Ukropalyse:

I always try to pass on to you any Ukrop’s nuggets I run across. Today an interesting one popped up in my email. I don’t really think it has anything to do with the sale rumors, but since so many of you are interested in what happens with the company, I figured I should let you know. It appears the auction of the former Ukrop’s building in Roanoke has been postponed. Here’s a link to the story.

Marty Jewell:

As for today’s water cooler talk in Richmond…. Marty Jewell pleads no contest to driving drunk in Richmond. We

Marty Jewell on City Council

learned today he had a blood alcohol level of .11, which is over the legal limit of .08 but below the .15 that requires mandatory jail time.  Jewell did spend the night in jail when he was arrested. He was given 90 days today with all of it suspended if he stays out of trouble for 3 years. He has to pay a $250 fine and to pay for VASAP classes, which is a state-run alcohol treatment program. Jewell’s license was suspended for one year but he is allowed to drive to and from work. It looks like he got the proper sentence for a first time DUI misdemeanor… but I’m curious what you think of the matter. Let me know.

6 Comments

Filed under City Council, City Hall Talk, Ukrop's

6 responses to “Ukrop’s Update and Marty Jewell’s DUI Conviction

  1. Charles

    Sounds like no preferencal treatment Now if only the rest would follow suit in the courts, maybe a little trust could be found

  2. Evil Weezel

    And exactly what does a foreclosure sale of a property LEASED by Ukrops have to do with the company, Rachael? You are grasping at straws with this one.

    • Not grasping at anything. My blog entry clearly states…. “I don’t really think it has anything to do with the sale rumors, but since so many of you are interested in what happens with the company, I figured I should let you know.”

  3. Evil Weezel

    Intereesting FACT: Kroger also posted a quarterly loss recently. Oh noes, there will be no grocery stores in Richmond soon, oh noes, oh noes!

  4. Dave

    I know Richmond loves its Ukrops bunch. The newspaper has been running a great PR campaign for them. I hope they get whatever they are asking for the company, I guess they earned it.

Leave a Reply

