#Ukropalyse Is Over!

Rachel DePompa – bio | email   

It’s over! What am I going to write about now??? 🙂 A big thank you goes out to all my readers and viewers and twitter friends. You have been a tremendous help. Your tips and constant interest reminded me every day how important this story is to many of you. I wanted to stay on top of it and this week was the culmination of some hard work and long hours. It was not an easy decision to run with the Ahold story on Wednesday. As a station, we were out there on a limb. No one else was even reporting the story. But I was confidant in my sources and I knew many hard-working people in Central Virginia (especially Ukrop’s 3,000-plus employees) wanted to know what was going on.

The Details:

Ahold is based in the Netherlands and is a world-wide conglomerate, but industry insiders tell me that doesn’t mean you’ll get a corporate feel in the stores. Giant-Carlisle is the actual group moving in to Central Virginia. It’s a division of Ahold USA. The company is based in Pennsylvania and has 152 stores in the Mid-Atlantic. The Giant stores this division operates are ONLY in Pennsylvania. (Another division of Ahold runs the Giants in Fredericksburg and many years ago had a store in Richmond) Giant-Carlisle ONLY operates Martin’s Food Markets south of the Mason Dixon Line. There are 9 Martin’s in Virginia. The first opened in 1984 in Winchester; Front Royal soon followed. Today there are also stores in Staunton, Harrisonburg, Waynesboro and Culpeper. We are traveling to the Martin’s in Waynesboro today so look for my report tonight at 5:30. We’ll compare and contrast Ukrop’s and Martin’s. I’m on vacation next week, but I’ll try to update you along the way.

Not Quite Finished Yet:

 There’s still much more to be written about this sale. Ukrop’s was an institution. It was very much a “Richmond” company. It was a chain with values that stuck to their guns. Please send me your story ideas and let me know how the loss of this home-grown company is affecting you.

5 Comments

Filed under Martin's Food Markets, Ukrop's

5 responses to “#Ukropalyse Is Over!

  1. at least the guessing game is over! I love Ukrops at Sycamore Square, I have been shopping since opening. I know the employees by name and they are family. As we get older (I hate to admit) we don’t like change. But we have to make changes to keep up with the world we live in. I hope I can still go to the smaller store at Sycamore store whatever the name. Maybe I’ll get out of the rut of buying the same thing all the time. I love the Fresh Market because it is small and has whole different variety. Remember, Variety is the spice of life!

  2. I am an employee of Kroger and I think this sale should have happened 10 years ago. So what if granny can’t get little Timmy to carry her two bags out to the car for her. And the Sundays and Beer are coming OOOOHHH AHHH big deal. I don’t see how they stayed afloat this long. I say good riddance.

  3. Bruce

    I am a life long Richmond area resident, so seeing the Ukrop’s stores change hands is somewhat sad… but I have shopped at Martin’s before and they are just as nice as Ukrop’s and in some ways better, so I don’t think Richmond will be dissapointed with the quality of the Martin’s stores. Of course we will miss the Ukrop’s name though.

  4. B. L. Westbrook

    Who knows what 2010 holds? Write on events as they unfold and affect all our lives. You AND the others at NBC12 are very good at that.

  5. Schvetz Kibletz

    What? Some Ahold from the Netherlands is buying Ukrops? Say it aint so!

    What will become of the bakery and the deli? And what about their pepperoni pizza?

    Honey, have you watered the dog and walked the kids?

Leave a Reply

